Skip to content ↓


Please note- Please also see the Reception class page for more information about our EYFS stage at Mosley.

The EYFS Framework

There are seven areas of learning and development that help to shape educational provision in Early Years settings.  All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.  None of the areas of learning can be delivered in isolation from the others.  Our children’s learning experiences enable them to develop competency and skills not just academically but also socially, emotionally and physically.

The three prime areas which are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, and form relationships are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Staff will also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

All of those areas of learning are connected together.  The characteristics of effective teaching and learning weave through them all.  That’s because children in the early years are becoming more powerful learners and thinkers.  These characteristics develop as they learn to do new things, acquire new skills, develop socially and emotionally, and become better communicators.